# Conferences

Any video conference provides the following participants' rights:

Read more about user and guest rights in our knowledge base.

# Connecting to a conference

You can join a video conference in the following ways:

# Creating a сonference

Open the main application menu, go to the Conferences section or click on the button /client/media/gui/conference_button/en.png. On the left of the window choose Meet now, enter the meeting name and select the conferencing mode.

/client/media/create_conference/en.png

When you join a meeting by calling its owner, the owner receives a corresponding request by default. You can change this settings by enabling the Automatically approve join requests checkbox. In this case, a user who wants to participate in the meeting will automatically connect to the meeting when calling its owner.

You can also enable this box after creating the conference. To this end, go to Conference options in the conference control panel by clicking on the corresponding button /client/media/gui/conference_tools_button/en.png.

The button /client/media/gui/clear_button/en.png can be used to clear the meeting settings and create it from scratch.

After that, click on the Add users button in the Participants section to open your contact list. Select the participants you would like to invite to a conference and click Add.

/client/media/add_participants/en.png

# Quick conference template

You can use templates to start conferences with pre-defined settings.

/client/media/meet_tamplate/en.png

All conference templates are locally stored on the user's computer and are not synchronized with other devices.

Click on the Add to templates button in the Conferences → Conference templates to proceed to the template with your conference name.

When selecting a template, you can start and delete a conference, change its name, mode and number of participants. You can undo all unsaved edits by clicking on the corresponding button. Once you have made the changes, you can save your template.

/client/media/meet_tamplate_button/en.png

You cannot restore the deleted template.

# Scheduling a conference

Clicking on the Scheduled conferences button in the Conferences section to go to the conference scheduler where you can:

/client/media/plan_conference/en.png

You may not be able to create a conference in the conference scheduler due to the restrictions set by the server administrator on a group level.

To create a conference in the scheduler, follow the next steps:

  1. Click the /client/media/gui/new_conference_button/en.png (Сreate a conference) button.

  2. Select a conference type: private (by default) – only registered users can join the meeting, or public (webinar) – both registered and unregistered users can join.

The Public conference option may not be available if the server administrator didn't enable this feature.

3. Click Continue to proceed to the main settings.

# "General" tab

In this section, you need to specify:

  • Conference name

  • Conference mode (All on screen is set by default)
  • Number of speakers if you chose a role-based conference

  • The conference type: scheduled meeting or a virtual room.

  • Date, time, duration, and, if necessary, recurrence for a scheduled conference.

If you need to create conferences with the same settings in a single click, check Save as a template box.

# "Participants" tab

Proceed to the Participants tab and add participants in one of the following ways:

# "Layout" tab

On the Layout tab, the default layout for all conference participants or for each individually and for SIP/H.323/WebRTC connections.

Editing layouts is not available for video lecture mode.

To configure the layout, complete the following steps:

  1. Select a video layout

  2. Choose the number of video windows

  3. If necessary, you can add an additional window for content sharing

  4. Select the participant for every video window or click Auto-fill layout (you will be able to re-arrange video windows with your mouse). You can also switch to full-screen mode

  5. Select the location of a participant's display name in the layout (at the top or at the bottom of the video window)

  6. If needed, you can check Do not allow users to change the layout box.

# "Advanced" tab

In the Advanced tab, you can:

  • Enable uninvited users to join the conference without asking for permission (available only for private conferences)

  • Set up conference ID

  • Specify guest permissions (available only for private conferences)

Learn more about public conferences in our article about webinar security.

  • Enable conference recording

  • Send email invitations to conference participants.

You may not be able to enable conference recording and send invitations if your TrueConf Server administrator has not set up these features.

# Call-to-conference escalation

You may need to invite additional users to your video call. TrueConf for Windows client application allows you to quickly transform your video call to a video conference by connecting other participants to a conversation. There is no need to interrupt a call and start a new video conference.

To add a new participant to a conversation:

  1. Go to Contacts in the left-side menu.

  2. Choose a participant you would like to invite and call this user in one of the ways described in the previous section of this guide.

You can also connect an IP camera or other devices using call strings.

# Inviting users to the conference

You can add participants from your address book when creating a conference as shown above.

Moreover, if you are the moderator of an ongoing conference, you can invite participants to join it. There are three options to do so.

  1. Go to the list of participants using the button /client/media/gui/view_participants_button/en.png and click Add participants.

  2. If you call any user during a conference, this user will be invited to join your current conference.

  3. Third, if you are the conference owner or have operator rights, you can go to the participants list in the real-time meeting manager and invite users by clicking the /client/media/gui/add_participant_button/en.png button to the right of the search bar.

The participants who haven't joined your conference will be shown in the separate group Unconnected.

/client/media/no_connection/en.png

# Inviting a user group to the conference

To add a user group to a conference, go to the group list display mode and click Invite to conference in the group context menu. You will enter the conference creation menu.

/client/media/invite_group_to_conference/en.png

In the same way, you can invite the group to an active video meeting if you are the meeting moderator.

To add a new participant or group without leaving the conference window, you need to go to the list of conference participants and click Add participants.

# User group actions

Click on the button /client/media/gui/group_operations_of_participant/en.png to select the required action over conference participants.

/client/media/group_operations_of_participant/en.png

The similar button is available for the list of unconnected participants: you can use it to re-invite them.

# Disconnecting participants

The moderator can disconnect a participant or another moderator during a meeting (removing the conference owner is unavailable). To this end, right click on the user name and select Disconnect participant in the list of conference participants (don't forget to go to the list of participants rather than the address book).

/client/media/disconnect_participant/en.png

After that, confirm your actions by pressing the corresponding button. Please note that if you check the box Do not allow to rejoin, the user will no longer be able to join your conference.

/client/media/apply_del_participant/en.png

# Ending the conference

If you are the conference moderator, when you leave the conference (by pressing /client/media/gui/end_call_button/en.png) you will be asked whether you want to leave the conference or end the conference for all participants.

/client/media/terminating_conference/en.png

If you choose Leave (without ending it for everyone), you can re-join it in the following ways: